The Nether Regions

The blog that slips an affectionate hand between the thighs of the regional media

Take the time to say ‘thank you’

with 2 comments

For most people, a ‘thank you’ letter conjures distant childhood memories of being forced to put pen to paper and thank an auntie for the hideous jumper she sent for a birthday.

But it appears there are people out there – some of them possibly even adults – who actually enjoy saying ‘thank you’ and enjoy it so bloody much that they’ll do it publicly in their local newspaper’s letters page.

Huddersfield Examiner, 24 July 2010:

I WOULD like to express my thanks to the gentleman who handed my bank card into the cashier at Marsh Co-op on Monday, June 21.

I was in so much pain with my arthritis and anxious to get home to take my painkillers I stupidly left my card in the cash point.

All I can say is thank God there are at least a few truthful decent people living in Marsh.

Due to my stupidity, it could have ended up in the hands of some drug dealer, of which there are many in Marsh.

Again, thank you whoever you are.

Laura, Marsh

Whitehaven News, 14 July 2010:

SIR – On the afternoon after Whitehaven Carnival, I was walking along the harbour and fell and injured myself.

A big thank you to the person who kindly put a coat under my head to make me more comfy. Also to the lady that went to Tesco to fetch my wife.

All these people know who they are so a big thank you to all concerned.

Brian HUMPHREYS
Whitehaven

Do they realistically expect the people concerned to be poring over the letters page every day in hope of finally getting the thanks they deserve for their good deeds? It appears so.

Don’t make do with a quick ‘thank you’ where the laborious details of your every move will do…

Halifax Evening Courier, 22 June 2010:

Imagine coming home and finding you are locked out of your house.

What would you do? Well thanks to a police officer and a taxi driver we managed to get in our house. We told our mum we would not be taking our keys with us when we went out and to not lock the door, but we arrived home to an empty house and a locked door and thanks to a neighbour we were informed that she had gone out.

We find ourselves stuck in Boothtown sat outside the Spar garage at 3am on Sunday morning when a policeman pulled in…he managed to give us a lift to ABC taxis who then took us to Brighouse train station to meet our sister to get her house keys so we could get in.

By 4.15am we managed to get in the house and are now watching Rocky on DVD.

To the policeman in question, the taxi driver and the neighbour in nearby flats…thank you.

Sam and Jo Hoyle

They wrote a letter to a newspaper at 4.15am at the same time as watching Rocky on DVD. Never in all my life…

But oh, what’s this? Ah yes, the passive aggressive ‘thank you’ letter… an excellent variation on the genre:

Huddersfield Examiner, 24 July 2010:

I WOULD like to say a huge thank you to the person who made a right mess of my car on Saturday night.

It has a rather large dent in the passenger door, light blue paint on the bumper (mine is a navy blue colour), looks terrible and is going to cost a lot of money to put it right.

This is going to be hard to do as I live on disability living allowance and sick pay. I just wish this person could have left their details. I hope they can sleep at night!

Annoyed, Dalton

And while we’re on the subject… a big thank you to Anna Holden for her assistance in collating these letters.

Written by Paddy

September 8, 2010 at 12:51 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been to Marsh and I can confirm that it is full of drug dealers.

    MKTBFFSTBF

    September 18, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  2. I’ve packed Rocky 4 – Apollo’s last stand – it’s going on at 4am next time I stay. You bring the heart felt thanks and we’ll let the South Manchester Gazette have it like Lungren socks it to the Creed..

    stumped

    September 19, 2010 at 8:33 am


Leave a Reply

