The Nether Regions

The blog that slips an affectionate hand between the thighs of the regional media

Man threw profiteroles at wife

with 14 comments

Being a court reporter for a regional newspaper is a demanding role requiring a firm grasp of media law, an understanding of courtroom protocol which might seem baffling to The Average Joe, and an ability to condense proceedings into a concise and serious digest. It will also often involve following lengthy, complex and high-profile trials to a conclusion, perhaps involving murderers, rapists, and serial tax evaders.

Embedded with marbles, perhaps.

Blackpool Gazette, 18 March 2008:

Man threw profiteroles at wife

By Emma Harris

A BISCUIT factory worker threw a bowl of profiteroles at his wife as she lay in bed.

Darren Owen, 38, of Seattle Avenue, Bispham, admitted assaulting his 55-year-old wife.

He was fined £150 with £60 costs and ordered to pay the £15 victims’ surcharge by Blackpool magistrates.

Pauline Newrick, prosecuting, said there had been an argument between the couple and Mrs Owen had not been hurt

David Charnley, defending, said the couple’s relationship was not going to continue.

What was this? An elaborate bedroom act gone awry? The only other time the use of chocolate products in a bedroom setting has been classed as assault was when Alan Partridge berated his flame-haired dalliance Jill, 50, for getting mousse on the valance (“the skirt thing round the side of the bed!”) (YouTube clip).

Thank you to Daniel Gray for originally bringing this to my attention.

Written by Paddy

January 12, 2010 at 7:02 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s a biscuit factory employee doing using profiteroles to beat his wife? That’s like Geoffrey Boycott using a baseball bat in his domestic violence antics. Is nothing sacred, etc.

    Angry Ex-Pat Brit, Levenshulme

    January 12, 2010 at 10:04 pm

  2. I’d like to be on that jury.. I wonder if they were given profiteroles to help them reach a verdict.

    IainH

    January 13, 2010 at 12:22 pm

  3. hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical points using this web site,
    since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I
    am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect
    your placement in google and can damage your high quality
    score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look
    out for a lot more of your respective exciting content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

    lost data

    September 26, 2014 at 11:13 am

  4. whoah this blog is magnificent i like reading your articles.

    Keep up the good work! You recognize, many individuals are hunting around for this information, you can help them greatly.

    find similar mp3

    September 26, 2014 at 11:20 am

  5. Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I acquire
    actually loved account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your augment and even I success you access persistently quickly.

    pregnant with period

    September 26, 2014 at 12:27 pm

  6. Hi to all, it’s genuinely a pleasant for me to
    pay a visit this site, it includes priceless Information.

  7. I saw a Texas A&M study that showed zombies tend to die quickly if swamped by sea water.
    Films, books, TV mini series, billboard posters, and tweets are filling
    us with dread that sooner or later our planet will succumb to a zombie apocalypse.
    I started off by identifying potential hazards in and outside
    my house that I saw as a threat or danger to me and my family.

    zombie tsunami hack

    October 8, 2014 at 1:26 am

  8. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    หนังxไทย

    October 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

  9. They cost less to run than incandescent grow lamps
    do as well. The recently developed LED grow lights aim to
    replace them because of these main reasons:.
    Such lights keep turning on and off everyday imitating as day and night.

    Rhea

    November 23, 2014 at 2:41 pm

  10. Great article, totally what I wanteed to find.

    Tomas

    June 21, 2015 at 8:49 am

  11. Wow! At last I got a web site from where I be capable of
    in fact take useful information concerning my study and knowledge.

    cpanel uk

    October 5, 2015 at 4:03 pm

  12. Very good info. Lucky me I discovered your site by
    chance (stumbleupon). I have book-marked it for later!

    my home

    December 4, 2015 at 3:26 pm

  13. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

    my blog

    January 7, 2016 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

